Skip to main content

At the Joint Meeting of ÖGAI with DGfI in Hannover in our General Assembly the ÖGAI Prizes were awarded. See pictures in the photo gallery in our Member Area.

The 1. ÖGAI-Dissertation Award (Fritz und Ursula Melchers-Prize) went to Eva Gruden (Group Dr. Schicho, Meduni Graz) for her PhD thesis “Investigating novel treatment options to suppress eosinophil effector responses”

The 2. Dissertation Award went to Lim X.F. Clarice (Group Prof. Strobl, Meduni Graz) for her PhD thesis “Role of microRNAs in dendritic cell differentiation and activation”

The 3. Dissertation Award went to Vktoria Zaderer (Group Prof. Wilfingseder, Meduni Innsbruck) for her PhD thesis “Adding new dimensions for an improved integrative understanding of pathogen entry and transmission at mucosal sites”

We congratulate all 2022 winners of the ÖGAI Thesis Awards warmly!


The Austrian Society of Allergology and Immunology has also for the year 2023 the possibility to award dissertations with scientifically outstanding content in the field of allergology or immunology. The first prize of 1.500,- is sponsored by Ursula and Fritz Melchers and bears the name of the sponsors, it is not divisible. The ÖGAI itself awards a further prize of € 1,500, which can be divided among a maximum of 3 prize winners.

The award is subject to the following conditions: The submitter must be a member of the Austrian Society of Allergology and Immunology. For the application and the prizes, dissertations can be submitted that have a topic in experimental or clinical allergology or immunology and were developed at an Austrian scientific institution. No more than 2 years may have passed since the approval of this dissertation at an Austrian or foreign university.

This work must not have been submitted for an award elsewhere, nor have won an award previously. The publication included in a dissertation may not be submitted simultaneously for another prize of the ÖGAI. Resubmissions are not permitted.

The latest submission date is June 30, 2023.

The thesis is to be sent as an overall pdf document of reduced size including a short CV as well as proof of approval of the thesis and the institution where the work was carried out to

Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology
c/o Vienna Medical Academy
Alser Street 4
1090 Vienna

Dissertations are reviewed by at least 2 independent experts and ranked using a point system. The decision on the awarding of prizes is made by the Board of Directors.

The award will be presented at an ÖGAI meeting in 2022.


For the Board:

President of the ÖGAI
Univ. Prof . Dr. Erika Jensen-Jarolim

Secretary of the ÖGAI
Assoc. Prof. PD. DDr. Eva Untersmayr-Elsenhuber

Leave a Reply