Skip to main content

In 2024, the Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology will again have the opportunity to offer a prize of 4,000 euros, donated by the company Bencard Allergie GmbH, for outstanding work in the field of allergological research. The award, named ‘Clemens von Pirquet -Prize for Allergy Research’ in memory of the creator of the term allergy, will be presented at the annual meeting of the Austrian Society of Allergology and Immunology. The awarding of the prize is subject to the following conditions:

Prizes are awarded for scientific papers on experimental or clinical allergology that have been produced in Austria and published within the last 2 years in a recognized scientific journal with a rigorous review system. Experimental work should be clearly related to clinical questions. This work may not have previously been awarded a prize, nor may it have been submitted for a prize elsewhere at the same time. Resubmissions are not permitted. The submitter must be a member of the Austrian Society of Allergology and Immunology and may submit only one first author paper for review (including 1st co-authorship).

The latest submission deadline is July 15, 2024.

The work is to be sent to as a complete pdf document with a reduced size including scanned, handwritten signed declarations of consent from the co-authors and a short CV.

Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology
c/o Vienna Medical Academy
Alserstrasse 4
1090 Vienna

The Board of the Austrian Society of Allergology and Immunology decides on the awarding of the prize after evaluation and ranking of the submitted papers by independent international experts. The division of the prize is not foreseen, the award will be given to the submitter.

The award will be presented at an ÖGAI meeting in 2024.

For the board:

President of the ÖGAI
Univ. Prof. DDr. Wolfram Hötzenecker

Secretary of the ÖGAI Sabine Altrichter