Skip to main content

At the Joint Meeting of ÖGAI with DGfI in Hannover in our General Assembly the ÖGAI Prizes were awarded.  The Karl Landsteiner Prize 2022 went to Ci Ashley Zhu from the Medical University Vienna with her paper in the Journal of Hepatology.  Please, see also pictures in our photo gallery in our Member Area. We congratulate warmly!

The Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology will, however, again award a prize of €4,000 for outstanding work in the field of basic immunological research in 2022. As every year, the award is presented by Bio & Bio, owned by Dr. Johann Eibl, in memory of the great services of Karl Landsteiner and donated by the ÖGAI. The submitter must be a member of the Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology.

For this prize, one first-author work per scientist can be submitted (including 1st co-authorship, and which deals with molecular and/or cellular immunological/immunopathological topics. Papers from clinical immunology can be considered if they essentially deal with basic immunological questions. The work must have been published in a recognized scientific journal with a strict review system within the last 2 years and have been carried out entirely, or at least for the most part, at an Austrian institution. This work may not have previously been awarded a prize, nor may it have been submitted for a prize elsewhere at the same time. Resubmissions are not permitted.

The latest submission date is June 30, 2023.

The work is to be sent to as a complete pdf document with a reduced size including scanned, handwritten signed declarations of consent from the co-authors and a short CV. If a reviewer would like a printed copy, we may ask you to send us one by post.

Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology
c/o Vienna Medical Academy
Alserstrasse 4
1090 Vienna

The board of the Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology decides on the award of the prize after a strict review and ranking by independent international experts. The award is not intended to be divided and the award will be presented at an ÖGAI meeting in 2022.


For the board:

President of the ÖGAI
university Prof. dr Erika Jensen-Jarolim

Secretary of the ÖGAI
associate Prof.PD. GDR. Eva Untersmayr-Elsenhuber