The Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology is the national society of all scientists and physicians who deal with the immune system and its diseases, such as allergies.

The ÖGAI connects science with medicine, provides a stage for the Next Generation Immunologists, and thus passes on the fire of enthusiasm to the next generation.

Factsheet ÖGAI


  • unites Austrian allergists and immunologists from science & medicine
  • improves the lives of patients with allergies and immune disorders
  • is competent in allergies, autoimmune diseases, immunodeficiencies, infectious diseases, vaccinations and tumor diseases
  • is networked worldwide with the international societies for allergology and immunology
  • celebrates its 50th birthday in 2021


The Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology (ÖGAI) was founded exactly 50 years ago and is younger than ever today. The vision of the founders to help patients with allergies and problems with the immune system through interdisciplinary cooperation has been confirmed, especially during the pandemic.

Let’s take a little ÖGAI journey through the past 5 decades together.

Download PDF


Since 2023
Univ. Prof. DDr. Wolfram Hötzenecker
2021 - 2022
Univ. Prof. Dr.med. Erika Jensen-Jarolim
2019 - 2020
Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Alexander Rosenkranz
2017 - 2019
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.Ing. dr Barbara Bohle
ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Winfried F. Pickl
2012 - 2014
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Fatima Ferrira-Briza

Board members

Below you will find the current board members of the ÖGAI

Univ. Prof. DDr. Wolfram Hötzenecker
1st Vice President
Univ. Prof. Mag. Dr. Wilfried Ellmeier
2nd Vice President
Univ. Prof. Dr. Erika Jensen-Jarolim
PD Dr. Sabine Altrichter
Deputy Secretary
Assoc. Prof. PD DDr. Eva Untersmayr-Elsenhuber
Assoc. Prof. D Mag. Dr. Wilfried Posch
Assoc. Prof. PD Dr. Georg Stary
Advisory Board
Univ. Prof. Dr. Sylvia Knapp, PhD
Advisory Board
Assoc. Prof. PD Dr. Michael Bonelli
Advisory Board
Assoc. Prof. PD Dr., MSc Patrick M. Brunner
Advisory Board
Dr Simona Saluzzo
Advisory Board
Assoc. Prof. PD Dr. Catherine Eller
Advisory Board
Assoc. Prof. PD Dr. Karin Hoffmann-Sommergruber


of the Austrian Society of Allergology and Immunology (ÖGAI). Version adopted at the General Assembly on 24.03.2022.

The representatives of the professional groups are co-opted to the board without voting rights. Specialty Groups: Clinical Immunology, Clinical Allergology, Immunization, Immunology Education, and Next Generation.

ÖGAI umbrella organizations